Dunedin Sea of Faith

Chairman's report 2009

The programme for this year was once again stimulating and rewarding, with the usual interesting and sometimes challenging membership participation.

February: Before the Dawn: Don Feist.

March: The Lloyd Geering Reader: Graham Batts.

April: Lines that Etch, Poems, Hymns: Arthur Templeton May A non-realist church: Marjorie Spittle – Andrew Meek

June: The trouble with Jesus. David Kitchingman.

July: Drop the Creed but hug the symbol. Aelred Edmunds

August: The war on terror in Ruatoki. Murray Rae.

September: The 21st century religious landscape. Rod Mitchell

October: Who needs Jesus in the 21st century; Margaret Feist. Alan Jackson,

Marjorie Spittle.

November: Where are you on the Sea of Faith: Membership discussion.

Our thanks to Don Feist, our newsletter Editor, who sends out some 80 copies of the Newsletter each month, to Ian Fleming our Treasurer and web-master, and our Librarian, Peter Wishart.

To the retiring committee members, Graham Batts and Gretchen Kivell, we are grateful for the time and contribution they have given to our Group. I am personally grateful for the support I have received from you all during my term as Chairman. Once again, it is the interest and participation members make that makes our Sea of Faith group so successful.

"Everything living rests on an unthought faith that today everything will mesh and interact in our complex physical and human environment in much the same way as it did yesterday. We might feel we need an explanation for that faith – a God or god. The explanation might have been chosen for us or we might have chosen it, or just found it was there with us one day.

But if we close our minds around our explanation we turn belief into doctrine. Doctrine kills more than people, it kills ideas. It is that pursuit of ideas which distinguishes our humanity and furnishes hope.

Here's hoping we can continue to be free of doctrine and fear. And continue to have faith and hope in our best and most constructive human activities"

Geoff. Neilson: Chairman.